More like “Semi-Attractive” Heroes  

unnamed.jpg

Ugly Heroes EP by Ugly Heroes

What it is everyone? It’s ya boy Marky-Mark here to, yet again, conjure up a dope review. Was my last review stupid, dope, irrelevant, ignorant, or simply “not good”? It’s possible, but c'mon, that’s the past…so get over it. Like I said before, hate it or love it, send me a tweet.

Back to the main attraction, the Ugly Heroes are a 3-dude conglomerate consisting of Chi-Town, alternative hip-hop artist, Verbal Kent, Detroit native Red Pill and one of the dopest producers I’ve never heard of, Apollo Brown.

Not sure if any of you listened to their first project, Ugly Heroes, but it was surprisingly good for a debut with a cohesive tracklist and like I said, never heard of Apollo Brown before, but his production skills are on-point when connected with the right musicians. (caution: he’s not for those of you who praise DJ Mustard) Brown’s beats will either have your head bobbing or give you that relaxed feel. Also, Verbal Kent and Red Pill solidify themselves as veterans of their craft with their relaxed flow, and storytelling lyrics, rather than spitting like novices to the game.

UGLY_HEROES_COVER_1500x1500-1Web_Front.jpg

favorite line off their first project: “I wish my wrist shot webs, but that’s hard,
I do save Mary Jane, in a glass jar”

tumblr_m7ahp7sU471rwniqvo1_500.gif

Don’t mean to get off track here…oh wait, I always mean to do that, but interestingly enough Verbal Kent actually looks somewhat like comedic star Mark Duplass

picisto-20140819143231-899521.jpg

If Mark Duplass had a buff cousin, it’d probably be Verbal Kent.

Think I’m an idiot for even comparing the two? I know you are, but…what am I? Whatever, I just wanted to share my thoughts with you, because I care about you guys.

tumblr_inline_mfnsihAxwO1qhcemj.gif

Now back to the main reason why you’re here: the Ugly Heroes.
Not gonna lie, just recently found out about them…by recently, I mean a day or two ago, but I have listened to both of their projects. Since I didn’t have any pre-expectations about these guys, I’ll admit, I definitely enjoyed their sound. Verbal and Red can definitely spit their own, majority of their project had themes of adversity with a sprinkle of how tough it was growing up in their hometowns. They fall in the "hardworking, blue collar every man” type of rapper category, not to say that’s all they talk about.

Could you play Ugly Heroes at a party or a kickback? You have a better chance playing this opposite Oreo trio at a kickback because no one wanna rock they bodies to the Ugly Heroes, no offense to them.

What superhero would have the Ugly Heroes’ first project on their iPod? In this day and age, it would have to be Peter Parker, but a little bit before he gets bitten by that pesky radioactive spider.

tumblr_n14fekEm1a1rg5ab2o7_250.gif

Alright guys, shall we get on with this review?

Here’s the tracklist to Ugly Heroes EP:

  1. Legit Worthless
  2. Naysayers & Playmakers
  3. Good Thing To Die (feat. Murs)
  4. Risk Brings Reward
  5. Michael & Scottie & Horace
  6. Pay Attention
  7. Low Serotonin (Prod. Oddisee)
  8. Ugly (feat. DJ Eclipse)
  9. Underrated (Apollo Brown Remix)

Hear thee! Hear thee! Shall I start thee review of The Heroes de Ugly?

1. Legit Worthless

To start our listening pleasure off, Mr. Brown greets us with his sample heavy production which seems to get my head swaying back and forth from time to time. Red Pill seems to keep doing what he’s best at: prove that he can definitely rap while Verbal Kent hits the track with some good lyrical content. And again, they bring their “blue collar” mentality from their last project.

why you should give it a listen?: Similar to a song a boxer would come out to before entering the ring!

1285930180_boxing-ring-entry-fail.gif

2. Naysayers & Playmakers

Have to say that as I dive more into the Ugly Heroes’ discography, the more I need to know about Apollo Brown. You guys, the dude has this special ability to sample oldies and create chill, laid back beats. As usual, Red Pill talks about people not believing in him and telling us that “we don’t know who Pill is”. In actuality, we shouldn’t judge the guy because he’s a big white dude from Detroit, he can totally spit some above average bars. Verbal Kent goes on to rap about some introspection, which I find admirable since the majority of hip-hop artists don’t.

favorite line from Pill: “my money short like Bilbo” (I haven’t even touched those books and I understand that line)

tumblr_mj195mMebr1qejqwno1_500.gif

3. Good Thing To Die (feat. Murs)

Yet again, Apollo Brown throws down a great beat, and the 2/3 of the trio spit some honest lyrical content. Caution: LA native, Murs, definitely shows the Ugly Heroes up with his feature verse, didn’t see that coming. The song seems to be an anthem for those who need to, as the late comedic genius and hell of an actor Robin Williams said, “Seize the day!”

951.gif

favorite line from Pill: “I’m Brother Ali if he ate sausage” (don’t compare him to that, he wouldn’t like it)

tumblr_m10fkbp3eX1qg2bs2.gif

4. Risk Brings Reward

Basically, Verbal and Red Pill spit about determination and adversity again, which is understandable since that’s their niche. But to be honest, this track just reminds me of something off their first project.

bth_finnyawing.gif

favorite line: I have no favorite line for this track. Deal. With. It.

5. Michael & Scottie & Horace

Let’s be honest here, you WANNA check this song out just because of the name. I was definitely excited when it came to this song because it has to be the best song on this project, HANDS DOWN! The beat is ferocious, like I would use this for my basketball highlight tape…if I was actually good, actually scratch that, this song would magically make the highlight tape mesmerizing even if you blew at basketball.

Verbal and Pill spit their best verses from the entire project on this record.

Should you check it out? …are you seriously asking that right now?

Upset-Michael-Jordan-Laughs-to-Himself.gif

6. Pay Attention

For some odd reason, Pill weirdly sounds like Macklemore. Anyone else hear it? Doesn’t matter, his verse on this track is definitely worth listening to. While Verbal is ehhhh. The beat is somewhat mellow, but has that bit-hostile chorus which you should pay attention to (see what I did there?).

tumblr_inline_n5n3jeHbsj1rqfb5i.gif

7. Low Serotonin (Prod. Oddisee)

First off, give some props to Oddisee for producing a chime-y fast, ridiculous beat. Verbal spits a mediocre verse, while Pill raps short, but sweet bars. Also, there is a huge lull in the middle of the track, and it could be the trio playing off the title “Low Serotonin”, which is pretty creative.

(Yes, I googled what serotonin does, so get off my back)

favorite line from…not Pill, but Verbal Kent: “many leather bound books, Ron Burgundy”

giphy.gif

8. Ugly (feat. DJ Eclipse)

Not sure if you figured out, but Red Pill sounds like a Macklemore who can spit some bars. Weirdly, I’m 63% sure that Apollo Brown or DJ Eclipse sampled Video Games from Lana Del Rey which is pretty dope, I could be wrong though. The track is laid back, and has the theme of determination all throughout.

tumblr_mf206uLKQD1rmnglgo1_500.gif

9. Underrated (Apollo Brown Remix)

The last track off this project is definitely worth listening to, because in all honesty, the beat is just right and belongs to the Ugly Heroes. Weirdly enough, it’s only Verbal on the track, but you almost forget that Pill isn’t even there because Verbal makes up for it by having not only one, but two good verses!

favorite line of Verbal Kent: “I touch rappers, I’m poise,
while your songs just touch boys, like the voice of Elmo”

tumblr_mowc69KUfT1rwtl3wo1_400.gif

Conclusion Time

Is this project worth checking out? If you have some time on your hands, (which you should since you just read this) definitely give this project a listen. Tops you only take a couple songs off of it for your iPod. Let it be known that the Ugly Heroes are definitely an acquired taste, and lesbi-honest, these dudes are totally underrated. All in all, this was an average sophomore project for these cats. Also, producer Apollo Brown has tons of production treats for those of you who are into that, so check him out!

Will anyone care if you say you listen to these guys? If you don’t say that the Ugly Heroes are a hip-hop cohort, then whoever you’re talking to will think you’re weird. But its cool, I’m weird…ish.

Comparison? I don’t know if I could compare these guys to anyone, but they’re definitely worth checking out.

follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/MFlorescent

follow the Ugly Heroes and…maybe mention me? https://twitter.com/UglyHeroes

Wanna criticize my work? Me? Tweet me…or forever hold your piece. (see what I did there, please don’t shoot me)

P.S. Anthony Fantano mentioned me in a video. Skip to 1:55. Take that haters:

 
3
Kudos
 
3
Kudos

Now read this

As $oon As Possible

If you’re reading this, then you probably found your way to my deserted blog through a maze of confusion and curiosity, I don’t blame you, I’ve had my share of strange findings on Youtube, ehh… Haven’t wrote for more than a minute, but... Continue →