Right in the Jewels

nwbayer.jpg

What it is errr body??? It’s the okay-est music critic in the world, and I’m back again with another pathetic review.

If you couldn’t already tell from the artwork above, I’m reviewing Run the Jewels 2 from creative hip-hop duo, Run the Jewels, which consists of Atlanta-native rapper, Killer Mike, and alternative hip-hop artist/producer, El-P.

Uxapbq8.gif

These two formed Run the Jewels in 2013, and once they released their self-titled project, the whole internet went sort of…crazy. I remember seeing Run the Jewels here, and someone posting it on this and that forum; I was baffled. Plus, seeing their project on best of 2013 lists was insane, so once I noticed that, I knew I had to check out whoever they were…or what.

jim-halpert-computer.gif

Believe me, whoever you are that’s reading this, just watch this video for their track “Banana Clipper”. If you don’t like this, you must be, in the words of Cypress Hill, “INSANE IN THE MEMBRANE!”

Let’s get to the album, shall we?

Here’s the track list to Run the Jewels 2:

  1. Jeopardy (Prod. El-P & Little Shalimar)
  2. Oh My Darling Don’t Cry (Prod. El-P & Little Shalimar & Wilder Zoby)
  3. Blockbuster Night, Pt. 1 (Prod. El-P)
  4. Close Your Eyes (And Count to Fuck) ft. Zack de la Rocha (Prod. El-P)
  5. All My Life (Prod. El-P & Little Shalimar)
  6. Lie, Cheat, Steal (Prod. El-P & Little Shalimar & Boots)
  7. Early ft. Boots (Prod. El-P & Little Shalimar)
  8. All Due Respect ft. Travis Barker (Prod. El-P & Little Shalimar & Wilder Zoby)
  9. Love Again (Akinyele Back) ft. Gangsta Boo (Prod. El-P)
  10. Crown ft. Diane Coffee (Prod. El-P & Little Shalimar)
  11. Angel Duster (Prod. El-P & Little Shalimar )

Hear thee! Hear thee! Shall I start thee review of the 2 Jewels that Run?

Bja1LMX.gif

Alright yo, I’m going to try something different this time. Instead of giving a track by track analysis, I’m just going to give ya’ll a summary of the album.

Run the Jewels 2 is definitely not for the faint of heart, it’s for those who want that hit to the face, who seek more than mediocrity, for those who love the sound of whips; for those weirdos out there. Does that make sense? Killer Mike and El-P go back and forth, spitting some hard-nosed lyrics from the start. And don’t forget the production; it’s like El-P was blessed with the art of producing; it’s in the guy’s blood. If Satan decided he wanted to be a rapper, the first person he would have to turn to is El-P.

tumblr_m8nw1tX2gw1qisalko1_500.gif

With tracks such as Close Your Eyes and Love Again, I can understand why Run the Jewels were a breakout group last year, because I know I’m salivating for more Jewels.

tumblr_lx4gg6Ftww1qb9h9jo1_400.gif

Recommended Tracks:

Oh My Darling Don’t Cry
Blockbuster Night, Pt. 1

Close Your Eyes (And Count to Fuck)

All My Life

Love Again (Akinyele Back)

Angel Duster

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

As $oon As Possible

If you’re reading this, then you probably found your way to my deserted blog through a maze of confusion and curiosity, I don’t blame you, I’ve had my share of strange findings on Youtube, ehh… Haven’t wrote for more than a minute, but... Continue →